11060880_10152929160771386_4995768270972029487_nSo I feel like yesterday I may have gone off on a bit of a tangent at the end. I mean who goes from discussing moving to London to talking about personal issues. So I thought I’d explain it a little bit better.

The title quote, for those of you that don’t know, is from The Shawshank Redemption. May seem a bit irrelevant to this post but somehow it weirdly works. Shawshank tells the story of a man imprisoned, despite his protest of innocence, who then builds a friendship with one of the longest serving prisoners. He becomes on of the most influential inmates and he finds ways to live out life with relative ease as one can in a prison, leaving a message for all that while the body may be locked away in a cell, the spirit can never be truly imprisoned.

Now obviously I can only talk about what I know and what I feel and there will be people who think differently and disagree. However, my post yesterday related to my feelings of insecurity and such. Something I didn’t think I would discuss quite so openly but somehow it made me feel slightly more at ease and a little less panicked.

As I said above, “while the body may be locked away in a cell, the spirit can never be truly imprisoned.”made me think an awful lot. I spent a lot of my life hiding behind my more popular friends, hiding my real emotions behind emotions I thought I should be feeling and being someone I definitely wasn’t. The reason that made me think was because my ‘spirit’ (not huge fan of that word, sounds like I should be cleansing an ora or something!) was maybe imprisoned by my own body. Over the last year that has changed, mostly for the better, however not still quite fully (i.e that non Bruce Jenner moment I mentioned yesterday) I still over emote situations. A friend said to me yesterday after reading my last post that I’m doing what is called ‘fictional reality’ I’m playing out real life situations in my head and thinking how I think they’re being played out when in actual fact it probably isn’t that way at all. A prime example of being imprisoned in one’s own body and mind.

Then I began to think about what I’m like when I’m not in this mindset, I become the polar opposite. I over use my emotions and blurt everything out. Literally, EVERYTHING. It not only drives me insane, but everyone else around me. I’m looking at the couple of people I was texting when I thought my life was over and I was having a slight nervous breakdown. Obviously I wasn’t. I was being ridiculous haha. Then I came across this article on good old Buzzfeed – 16 Graphs That Will Help You Understand Your Highly Sensitive Friends So Much Better. THAT’S IT! I what is known as a HSP. A Highly Sensitive Person. It, in a Buzzfeed way, explains what it’s like to be a HSP and describes the difference between what people think a highly sensitive person is and what they actually are. The title suggests it’s for people who have friends like this, which it is but it also made me understand maybe what it was going on ‘upstairs’. Who’d of thought I would’ve worked out some of what was going on with a bloody Buzzfeed article.

I’ve linked the article below, have a little read, you might learn something about your friends or maybe even yourself.

After all “some birds are not meant to be caged. Their feathers are just too bright” Help a friend out, understand them, don’t let them cage themselves up inside their own head, they may just surprise you when they let go.

16 Graphs That Will Help You Understand Your Highly Sensitive Friend So Much Better

Leave a comment